Members Only   |   EMDRIA Community   |   Print Page   |   Sign In
Administrative Committees

Advocacy Committee

Chair: James W. Cole, Ed.D.
Committee Members:  Sue Butkus Ph.D.; Diane DesPlantes LCSW; DaLene F. Forester, Ph.D.; E. C. Hurley Ph.D, LMFT; Mark C. Russell Ph.D, ABPP, ABCCAP; Rosalie Thomas RN, Ph.D.; Evelyn Wright LCSW; Elaine Wynne MA, LP.

The purpose of the Advocacy Committee is to promote EMDR therapy for all populations where it is under utilized or not available. There are high rates of trauma in the military, the inner cities, and in some rural settings where EMDR is often not available. It is this committees goal to increase the availability of EMDR to these populations and within other areas where it is not currently being fully utilized.

Conference Committee

Chair: Lesa Swanson, LICSW Co-Chair: Rosalie Thomas, RN, Ph.D.
Committee Members: Susan Brown, LCSW, BCD; Irene Giessl, Ed.D.; Jennifer Lendl, Ph.D.; Helen Morton, MSW, LCSW, LMFT; Gary Peterson, M.D.; Janie Scholom, RN, LCSW-C; Jocelyne Shiromoto, MSW, LCSW; Viviana Urdaneta, LCSW; Camille Zeiter, LICSW

The purpose of the Conference Committee is to produce and promote an annual Conference. The mission of the Conference is to provide high quality presentations by trained clinicians and researchers in order to establish, maintain, and promote the highest standards of excellence and integrity in EMDR practice, research, and education. Members interested in serving on this committee should have attended one EMDRIA Conference or have previous conference experience with a similar organization.

Journal Editorial Board

Journal of EMDR Practice and Research

Editor: Louise Maxfield, Ph.D , Cpsych

Board: Sheila Sidney Bender, Ph.D.; Uri Bergmann, Ph.D.; John G. Carlson, Ph.D.; Ad de Jongh, Ph.D.; Carlijn de Roos, MA; Tonya Edmond, Ph.D.; Derek Farrell, Ph.D.; Isabel Fernandez, Clinical Psychologist; Blanche Freund, Ph.D., RN, FAACS; Denise Gelinas, Ph.D.; Ricky Greenwald, Psy.D.; Arne Hofmann, MD; Lee Hyer, Ed.D., ABPP; Masaya Ichii, MA; Daeho Kim, MD., Ph.D.; Deborah L. Korn, Psy.D.; Christopher Lee, M.Sc., Ph.D.; Andrew M. Leeds, Ph.D.; Howard Lipke, Ph.D.; Therese McGoldrick, BS.; Gary Peterson, MD; Susan Rogers, Ph.D.; Mark C. Russell, Ph.D.; Martin Sack, MD; Guenter H. Seidler,; Francine Shapiro, Ph.D.; Nancy J. Smyth, Ph.D., MSW; John Spector, BA,; Robert Stickgold, Ph.D.; Bessel A. van der Kolk, MD; Kathleen Wheeler, Ph.D.

Marketing & Communications Committee

Chair:  Carrie Cherap-Carr, MA, LCPC
Committee Members: Coy R. Osgood, MSW, LICSW-A, CDP; Patricia Henry-Schneider, MS, LPC; Marisol Erlacher, MA, LPC; Jessica St. Clair, MS, MFT

EMDRIA's Marketing and Communications Committee's purpose is to increase awareness of EMDR and EMDRIA among the general public and mental health professionals by supporting EMDRIA’s yearly marketing communications plan. The Committee’s duties may include, but are not limited to, gathering contact information and creating relationships with local media outlets and university faculty, supporting EMDRIA’s social media efforts, assisting in the development of outreach materials and website content, and working to support EMDRIA’s EMDR awareness events. Committee communications will take place over email and monthly conference calls.

Regional Coordinating Committee

Chair: Lawrence Nieters, Ph.D.
Committee Members: Susan Arland, MA, LMHC; Karen Forte, LCSW, DCSW; Annie Monaco, LCSW-R; Reg Morrow, Ed.S., LMFT, LMHC; Sheri Rezak-Irons, LCSW, Charlene Spears, MSW, LCSW; Rajani Levis, MS, LMFT (non-voting member)

The EMDRIA Regional Coordinating Committee works as a team to support the mission and vision of the EMDRIA Regional Network, advising program development, volunteer development, and best practices.


The mission of the EMDRIA Regional Network is to support and facilitate the exchange of information related to EMDR therapy among the mental health professional community.


The vision of the EMDRIA Regional Network is to create a free flowing exchange of information amongst diverse EMDR therapy professionals encouraging growth and fostering a network of support and education.

Research Committee

Chair: Kate Wheeler, Ph.D., APRN
Committee Members: Joyce Baptist, Ph.D.; John "Jac" Carlson, Ph.D.; Wendy Freitag, Ph.D.; Andrew M. Leeds, Ph.D.; Louise Maxfield, Ph.D.; Anthony J. Tranguch, M.D.

The purpose of the Research Committee is to write scholarly responses as needed, decide poster award at conference, nominate EMDRIA’s annual outstanding research award, collaborate with EMDR Research Foundation to set priorities for EMDR research, and serve as a resource for EMDRIA scholarship and research.

Standards & Training Committee

Chair: Tamra Hughes, MA, LPC 
Committee Members: Jocelyn Barrett, LICSW; Katelyn Baxter-Musser, LCSW; Linda Bowers, MA, LPC; Cindy Browning, LCSW; Celia Grand, LCSW, BCD; Jean Hawks, Ph.D.; Kim Johnson, LCSW; Josie Juhasz, MA, LPC; Gary Scarborough, M.Ed., LPC; Cindy Slimak, LCSW-R, MS, NPP; Laura Steele, Psy.D., MFT; Linda Tepper, LCSW; Jan Williams, MS, LPC; William Zangwill, Ph.D.

The purpose of the Standards & Training Committee is to ensure that EMDRIA Approved Basic Training Providers, EMDRIA Credit Programs, Certified Therapists and Approved Consultants are upholding the current standards of EMDR as maintained by EMDRIA. Committee members review the training materials submitted by Basic Training Provider applicants and workshop materials submitted for EMDRIA Credit programs. Members interested in serving on this committee must maintain their status as an EMDRIA Certified Therapist and have an interest in maintaining standards in EMDR therapy. Committee members communicate regularly by email and during monthly conference calls. 


University Committee

The purpose of the University Committee is to advise on the integration and adaptation of EMDR training into academic graduate programs, provide insights into incorporating EMDR related resources into curricula, seek to integrate information about EMDR into textbooks and educational materials, educate colleagues about EMDR therapy, and find ways to train clinicians in EMDR therapy to work with underserved populations.



Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal